Wickford Churches

Photographs of buildings.

These are photographs recently seen at the collection in Basildon Heritage, Wat Tyler Park.

The first photograph is of The Tabernacle, in London Road. We have little knowledge of it except that it was a building used by the Southend Elim Church for its first meetings in 1926. It would be interesting to discover more of its history – for example, when it was built and who used it for the period of its existence.

The other photographs are of the Mission Hall, in London Road, and the interior of Wickford Congregational Church, in the High Street.

Wickford Mission Hall was built in 1901.
The Mission Hall as it was in 2015, now part of St. Andrew's Church.
This 1961 photograph shows the inside of the Congregational Church which stood on the High Street until it was demolished to make way for commercial buildings. The preacher was the Reverend Stanley Hodges, and sitting on the left was Laurie Lay.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *